Girls, Girls, Girls. Girls I Do Adore

My imaginary BFFs

My imaginary BFFs

Every Monday morning I get the “Ugh! Not you again” feeling as I desperately try to silence my alarm. I’m not alone in this, but there is one thing (apart from the thought of that special someone) that keeps me bouncing along during the day…. Girls. Yep, I love Girls, and there are four in particular that have completely captured my heart, and they star in a fantastic TV series.

I’ll first say a bit about the show’s creator/writer/producer/director Lena Dunham. She’s fab, super talented and I’m pretty sure she will be the role model for the next generation of feminists everywhere. She is honest in her writing, which sometimes makes for some cringe-inducing scenes, sharp and very funny. She’s a normal young woman with hang-ups and insecurities just like everyone else and isn’t afraid to confront them head-on. Hannah and Adam sex scenes, I’m talking to you!. She has described herself as a bit of an outsider growing up. To be honest I think being an outsider gives you a somewhat detached view to observe human interaction (yes, I was something of a wallflower…sometimes). Lena was mentored by the legendary Nora Ephron and it shows. The series (now in its second season) has attracted attention everywhere. Love it or hate it, there is something to talk about and I hope we’ll be talking for a long time.

What I love about Girls is it’s not glamorous. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the SATC ladies, but they were just too…well…. shiny. Yes, SATC’s Charlotte’s first marriage was erectile dysfunction hell, but her divorce settlement apartment more than made up for that. I love the fact that the four main characters Hannah, Marni, Shoshonna and Jessa are all different, but they could potentially be one person.  They’re young, wondering what to do with their lives, looking for jobs, trying to pay the rent and getting into the swing of sexual experimentation. It’s not always fun and it definitely isn’t always pretty! I love the fact that Adam makes me feel both scared of and sorry for him at the same time. I love the fact that Shoshonna speaks in acronyms and I love the fact that everyone has a little bit of loser to them.

If you haven’t already had a chance to watch it, please do. It’s not for everyone, but It’s definitely for me. How’s about you?

For more on Lena and the show in general, please have a read of the Dawn O’ Porter’s piece in Stylist and for a sneak peek at the girls in action, check out this video.

Let me know what you think...

